1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

College Hotline - Pac-12 football: Kickoff times, the Pac12Nets schedule and a Comcast...

Discussion in 'CU Buffs Newsroom' started by RSSBot, Jun 2, 2016.

  1. RSSBot

    RSSBot News Junkie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    28,615
    Likes Received:
    197
    [​IMG]


    Let’s start with a bit of good news for the Pac-12 Networks, although to some readers it’s not actually news.

    Comcast recently informed subscribers that it’s doing the Pac12Nets flip:

    The National feed (i.e., Pac-12 Network, as opposed to, say, Pac-12 Arizona) will be moved to a basic tier, while the regional feeds will be moved to a sports tier.

    If your primary focus is Olympics sports, this isn’t necessarily good news: The majority are broadcast on the relevant regional feeds, which will be on a sports tier ($$$).

    But if the major sports are your preference, the flip is good news: All football and men’s basketball games televised by the Pac12Nets are on the National feed … and now the National feed is on the basic tier.

    And it’s in HD.


    This will impact more than a few fans. There are approximate four million Comcast subscribers in the Pac-12 footprint.

    To summarize (because the Pac-12Nets are complicated): If you live in the conference footprint and you have Comcast, you’ll get all the Pac12Nets broadcasts of football and men’s basketball games on basic cable, and in HD.

    The Pac12Nets haven’t experienced many victories in the past few years — and there are still plenty of issues — but this is a win.

    *** On the early-season football schedule (see below):

    Of the 14 games thus far slotted for the Pac12Nets, the most compelling is probably Utah State at USC.

    That’s not a joke.

    The TV selection process invariably gives ESPN and Fox the best games, and during the non-conference season, with so many cupcakes on the schedules, that usually means the Pac12Nets gets stuck with clunkers. A lot of clunkers.

    And that’s part of the problem:

    The most compelling content owned by the the Pac12Nets — the football content — is often not very compelling, at least not to fans outside of the participating teams.

    Very few non-Oregon fans care about watching the Ducks play UC Davis.

    Very few non-Arizona State fans care about watching the Sun Devils play Northern Arizona.

    Does anyone care about Idaho State vs. Oregon State?

    (Just kidding. Mostly.)

    *** The kickoff times for the remaining games will be announced during the season, usually with the 12-day window but occasionally with the 6-day window.

    *** And please take note of multiple uses of the 11 a.m. kickoff window (Pac12Nets), which helps alleviate the logjam during the non-conference Saturdays with 10+ games.



    Day/Date Game Time TV
    Sat., Aug. 27
    Hawai’i vs. CALIFORNIA (1) 7 p.m. PT (Fri., Aug. 26) TBA
    Thurs., Sept. 1 Southern Utah at UTAH 6 p.m. MT/5 p.m. PT PAC12
    OREGON STATE at Minnesota TBA Big Ten Network
    Fri., Sept. 2 Colorado State vs. COLORADO (2) 6 p.m. MT/5 p.m. PT ESPN
    Kansas State at STANFORD 6 p.m. PT FS1/FOX Deportes
    Sat., Sept. 3 Rutgers at WASHINGTON 11 a.m. PT PAC12
    UC Davis at OREGON 2 p.m. PT PAC12
    USC vs. Alabama (4) 7 p.m. CT/5 p.m. PT ABC
    Eastern Washington at WASHINGTON STATE 5 p.m. PT PAC12
    BYU vs. ARIZONA (3) 7:30 p.m. PT FS1
    Northern Arizona at ARIZONA STATE 7:45 p.m. PT PAC12
    UCLA at Texas A&M 2:30 p.m. CT/12:30 p.m. PT CBS
    Sat., Sept. 10 Utah State at USC 11 a.m. PT PAC12
    Idaho at WASHINGTON 2 p.m. PT PAC12
    Idaho State at COLORADO 3:30 p.m. MT/2:30 p.m. PT PAC12MT
    BYU at UTAH 5:30 p.m. MT/4:30 p.m. PT FOX
    UNLV at UCLA 5 p.m. PT PAC12
    Texas Tech at ARIZONA STATE 7 p.m. PT FS1/FOX Deportes
    CALIFORNIA at San Diego State 7:30 p.m. PT CBSSN
    Virginia at OREGON 7:30 p.m. PT ESPN
    Grambling State at ARIZONA 7:45 p.m. PT PAC12
    WASHINGTON STATE at Boise State TBA TBA
    Fri,. Sept. 16 ARIZONA STATE at UTSA 8:30 p.m. CT/6:30 p.m. PT ESPN2
    Sat,. Sept. 17 Idaho at WASHINGTON STATE 11 a.m.PT PAC12
    Idaho State at OREGON STATE 2 p.m. PT PAC12
    USC at STANFORD 5 p.m. PT ABC
    Portland State at WASHINGTON 5 p.m. PT PAC12
    Texas at CALIFORNIA 7:30 p.m. PT ESPN or ESPN2
    UTAH at San Jose State 7:30 p.m. PT CBSSN
    Hawai’i at ARIZONA 7:45 p.m. PT PAC12
    COLORADO at Michigan TBA TBA
    OREGON at Nebraska
    TBA TBA
    UCLA at BYU
    TBA TBA
    Fri., Sept. 23 USC at UTAH 7 p.m. MT/6 p.m. PT FS1/FOX Deportes
    Sat., Sept. 24 WASHINGTON at ARIZONA
    CALIFORNIA at ARIZONA STATE
    STANFORD at UCLA
    COLORADO at OREGON
    Boise State at OREGON STATE
    Fri., Sept. 30 STANFORD at WASHINGTON 6 p.m. PT ESPN
    Sat., Oct. 1 ARIZONA at UCLA
    ARIZONA STATE at USC
    OREGON STATE at COLORADO
    UTAH at CALIFORNIA
    OREGON at WASHINGTON STATE
    Sat., Oct. 8 ARIZONA at UTAH
    UCLA at ARIZONA STATE
    COLORADO at USC
    WASHINGTON at OREGON
    CALIFORNIA at OREGON STATE
    WASHINGTON STATE at STANFORD
    Sat., Oct. 15 USC at ARIZONA
    ARIZONA STATE at COLORADO
    UCLA at WASHINGTON STATE
    UTAH at OREGON STATE
    STANFORD at Notre Dame 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT NBC
    Fri., Oct. 21 OREGON at CALIFORNIA 7:30 p.m. PT ESPN
    Sat., Oct. 22 WASHINGTON STATE at ARIZONA STATE
    UTAH at UCLA
    COLORADO at STANFORD
    OREGON STATE at WASHINGTON
    Thurs. Oct. 27 CALIFORNIA at USC 7:30 p.m. PT ESPN
    Sat., Oct. 29 STANFORD at ARIZONA
    ARIZONA STATE at OREGON
    WASHINGTON at UTAH
    WASHINGTON STATE at OREGON STATE
    Thurs., Nov. 3 UCLA at COLORADO 7 p.m. MT/6 p.m. PT FS1
    Sat., Nov. 5 ARIZONA at WASHINGTON STATE
    OREGON at USC
    OREGON STATE at STANFORD
    WASHINGTON at CALIFORNIA
    Thurs., Nov. 10 UTAH at ARIZONA STATE 7:30 p.m. MST/6:30 p.m. PT FS1
    Sat., Nov. 12 COLORADO at ARIZONA
    USC at WASHINGTON
    OREGON STATE at UCLA
    STANFORD at OREGON
    CALIFORNIA at WASHINGTON STATE
    Sat., Nov. 19 ARIZONA at OREGON STATE
    ARIZONA STATE at WASHINGTON
    USC at UCLA
    WASHINGTON STATE at COLORADO
    OREGON AT UTAH
    STANFORD AT CALIFORNIA
    Fri., Nov. 25 WASHINGTON at WASHINGTON STATE 12:30 p.m. PT FOX or FS1
    ARIZONA STATE at ARIZONA 7:30 p.m. MST/6:30 p.m. PT ESPN
    Sat., Nov. 26 UCLA at CALIFORNIA
    UTAH at COLORADO
    OREGON AT OREGON STATE
    Rice at STANFORD
    Notre Dame at USC
    Fri., Dec. 2 Pac-12 Football Championship Game (5) 6 p.m. PT FOX/FOX Deportes

    Games in italics have been selected to be televised as a part of other conference/institution television packages.

    (1) ANZ Stadium, Sydney, Australia

    (2) Sports Authority Field at Mile High, Denver, Colo.

    (3) University of Phoenix Stadium, Glendale, Ariz.

    (4) AT&T Stadium, Arlington, Texas

    (5) Levi’s Stadium, Santa Clara, Calif.

    The post Pac-12 football: Kickoff times, the Pac12Nets schedule and a Comcast breakthrough appeared first on College Hotline.

    Continue reading...

    by Jon Wilner
     

Share This Page