1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Intentional Grounding

Discussion in 'Colorado Football Message Board' started by InTheBuff, Sep 3, 2013.

  1. InTheBuff

    InTheBuff Club Member Club Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,251
    Likes Received:
    505
    I was at the game and haven't seen it replayed on TV.

    Can somebody please explain to me why CSU's QB didn't get called for intentional grounding but Wood did ?

    From what I saw it looked like both QBs threw the ball in the vicinity of a receiver.
    CU getting called on the drive at the time was a real killer.
     
  2. Shldr2Shldr

    Shldr2Shldr Club Member Club Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    16,842
    Likes Received:
    4,999
    I was confused as well. Wood's pass seemed closer to the receiver then the CSU QB's. Only difference I can see was that Wood was in the grasp as he threw it. The CSU qb was still scrambling.
     
  3. FlatironsBuff

    FlatironsBuff Club Member Club Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    10,830
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    Was a bs call. Either both are bad or both are good. Was very poor one sided officiating
     
  4. Shldr2Shldr

    Shldr2Shldr Club Member Club Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    16,842
    Likes Received:
    4,999
    I was more pissed about the 3 passes to PRich where he had a Ram draped on him and no PI call...
     
  5. BuffClass90

    BuffClass90 Banned BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,905
    Likes Received:
    96
    That was one of the worst officiated games I've ever seen. They were terrible.
     
  6. Shldr2Shldr

    Shldr2Shldr Club Member Club Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    16,842
    Likes Received:
    4,999
    The only call they got right was the Targeting call. Glad they didn't eject the kid. On one of Connor's scrambles he stepped out about half way through the run and they didn't review it. I saw it in the one quick replay they showed.
     
  7. GoBuffs08

    GoBuffs08 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    647
    I thought the call on Wood was the correct call. The non call on CSU was a joke.
     
  8. pcbuff

    pcbuff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    133
    Where was the officiating crew from?

    Mtn West crew or Pac 12?

    I thought the let them play for the most part. I would of liked a flag for taunting, but that is just my fandom seeping through.
     
  9. dply

    dply Doble hoja Club Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    2,472
    MWC. I thought it was Pac-12 by how poor the officiating was.
     
  10. InTheBuff

    InTheBuff Club Member Club Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,251
    Likes Received:
    505
    I just thought it was bad to let Grayson's slip but then call it late in the game giving csu another chance.
    This was just after csu had gone for it on 4th down at mid-field and was stuffed.
     
  11. XIIfan

    XIIfan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    13
    If I remember correctly, Grayson's pass went past the LOS and Wood's didn't. I thought you had to get outside the tackles and pas the LOS to avoid intentional grounding. Not sure what happens if you hit your target in the feet behind the LOS though (Wood was close).
     
  12. Alfred91

    Alfred91 Club Member Club Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5,349
    Likes Received:
    1,602
    It was the wrong call both times. Grayson's pass hit his o-lineman on the fly without being batted, which I believe is an automatic penalty, is it not? Not to mention the "intended receiver" was blocking at the time of the pass. Wood's pass was short of the mark, but there was a receiver coming back to the ball when it hit the ground. Just a terrible call.

    I did think the officiating was terrible, I didn't think it was one-sided, though. There were some blown calls both ways.
     
  13. Alfred91

    Alfred91 Club Member Club Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5,349
    Likes Received:
    1,602
    Grayson's pass didn't cross the LOS either. It hit his o-lineman in the foot.
     
  14. FlatironsBuff

    FlatironsBuff Club Member Club Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    10,830
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    YES!!!! That was another call they didn't make. PRich in the end zone, defender breaks it up, and then is double finger pointing in PRichs face and taunting...and...circkets. Ref right there, nothing done about it. Pissed me off. Some of the worst tauting I have ever seen after a play and they sit on their flags. That was crap.
     
  15. AeroBuff99

    AeroBuff99 Club Member Club Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    307
    After watching the DVR, both calls were technically correct. The RB was within 1 or two yards of where the ball was thrown by Grayson, on Wood's the ball was more like 10 yards away even though he threw it in the general direction, it wasn't in the vicinity of a receiver. As for illegal touching (pass hitting the lineman's foot), the touching must have been intentional according to the rule book.
     
    azbuff likes this.
  16. pcbuff

    pcbuff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    133
    In film I would make him a hero as we watched that.

    Seriously, I would have punched the guy. PRich seems to be doing it right!
     
  17. azbuff

    azbuff Club Member Club Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,671
    Likes Received:
    284
    This is exactly right.
     
  18. Junction

    Junction Moderator Club Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    47,534
    Likes Received:
    1,000,005
    But the ball doesn't have to be in the vicinity of a receiver. It has to have been INTENDED to be in the vicinity of a receiver. Wood was clearing attempting to get the ball to Murphy, but due to the pressure made an inaccurate throw. I didn't think either play was IG....
     
  19. AeroBuff99

    AeroBuff99 Club Member Club Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    307
    Nope, rule 7.3.2.h clearly states "A forward pass is illegal if the passer to conserve yardage throws the ball forward into an area where there is no eligible Team A receiver."
     
  20. Quattro

    Quattro Banned BANNED Club Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    26,503
    Likes Received:
    761
    Except there was a eligible receiver there, and the ball would have made it to him had Connor not gotten hit as he was throwing it.
     
  21. 14er

    14er “Imitation is suicide.” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    5,036
    Likes Received:
    980
    I perceived it as Conner threw it away to avoid the sack. Not that he was throwing it when he got hit.
     
  22. rolandftw

    rolandftw Club Member Club Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    52
    Watching it live, was pretty clear that Wood was going to get called for intentional grounding there. Both were the correct calls.
     
  23. Junction

    Junction Moderator Club Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    47,534
    Likes Received:
    1,000,005
    Apparently you missed the TV camera angle from directly behind wood, showing Murphy crossing on his pattern and the ball thrown in his direction (with Wood's eyes trained on Murphy). It was an inaccurate throw. It was not intentional grounding, certainly no more so than when GiGi threw a ball directly at the feet of a RB engaged in a block for the Rams....
     
  24. Alfred91

    Alfred91 Club Member Club Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5,349
    Likes Received:
    1,602
    The idea that Wood didn't throw it toward a receiver is ridiculous.

    By you guys' logic, every time a QB is hit while throwing the ball, it should be grounding - assuming the ball doesn't land at someone's feet.
     
  25. Quattro

    Quattro Banned BANNED Club Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    26,503
    Likes Received:
    761
    :nod:
     
  26. azbuff

    azbuff Club Member Club Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,671
    Likes Received:
    284
    No one said it wasn't thrown towards a receiver. However, the ball landed at least ten yards from the receiver. It wasn't remotely close. Hence, the correctly called intentional grounding penalty.
     
  27. Quattro

    Quattro Banned BANNED Club Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    26,503
    Likes Received:
    761
    Because he was hit as he was throwing the ball
     
  28. azbuff

    azbuff Club Member Club Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,671
    Likes Received:
    284
    Okay, if you can honestly watch the replay and conclude Wood wasn't just trying to get rid of the ball (i.e., he was actually trying to complete that pass). He threw it in the direction of the receiver to avoid the intentional grounding penalty, he just didn't throw it close enough. I have a sneaking suspicion you would feel differently about the play if the tables were turned.
     
  29. GoBuffs08

    GoBuffs08 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    647
    I only saw the play at the game but I thought Wood was getting hit before he started the throw, and before being taken down tried to toss the ball towards a receiver but really didn't get that close.
     
  30. DBT

    DBT Club Member Club Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    58,547
    Likes Received:
    4,702
    I guess I'm the only one who noticed Wood lost control of the ball and kind of pushed it forward. We may have dodged a bullet.
     

Share This Page