1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Several Honored At 15th Annual CUSPY Awards

Discussion in 'University of Colorado News and Olympic Sports' started by RSSBot, Apr 28, 2015.

  1. RSSBot

    RSSBot News Junkie

    Jul 8, 2005
    Likes Received:
    Category: Athletics

    Over a dozen major awards were presented Tuesday night as CU honored its best at the 15th annual CU Sports Performers of the Year (CUSPY) Awards.

    Originally posted by CUBuffs.com
    Click here to view the article.

    Pulling from the article, here's a summary of awards, and their winners and nominees-

    CU’s Male Athlete of the Year- Mads Stroem (Nordic skiing). (The other finalists were Ammar Moussa (cross country), Morgan Pearson (indoor track) and Nelson Spruce (football).)

    The Female Athlete of the Year Award- shared between soccer’s Brie Hooks and golf’s Esther Lee. (Erin Clark (cross country) and Taylor Simpson were the other finalists.)

    Female Career Athletic Achievement Award- Taylor Simpson (Volleyball) (The other three finalists were Lexy Kresl (basketball), Brooke Wales Granstrom (skiing) and Julyette Steur (tennis).)

    The Male Career Athletic Achievement Award- Rune Oedegaard (skiing) (Other nominees were Will Oliver (football), David Oraee (golf) and Blake Theroux (cross country). )

    The Male Freshman Athlete of the Year Award- Shay Fields, (Other nominees were Derek McCartney (football) and Ian Boucher (skiing).)

    Female Freshman Athlete of the Year Award- Golfer Brittany Fan (Other nominees - Petra Hyncicova (skiing), Darby Kiernan (lacrosse) and Gabby Simpson (volleyball).)

    (The article also did note- "The selection committee does leave open the possibility that the Athlete-of-the-Year and freshmen awards could be augmented once the spring sport seasons are complete in fairness to those sports (golf, lacrosse, outdoor track, tennis) that still have important portions of their seasons and/or NCAA events still ahead of them. ...")

    CU Sports "Moment of the Year." - When the ski team found out it had won the national championship on March 14. (That moment edged out the men’s cross country team repeating as national champions and the volleyball team dealing Washington its first defeat of the season for the second straight year; in 2013, the Huskies were ranked No. 1, last fall, UW was No. 2.)

    Staff member of the year- Assistant trainer Eric Mann (Other finalists were nutritionist Laura Anderson and sports psychologist Chris Bader.)

    The Student Athlete Support Award- The new Performance Nutrition staff. (The Sports Performance and the Sports Medicine staffs were also finalists.)

    The highest award a graduating senior can receive from the Pac-12 Conference is the Tom Hansen Medal, named for the league’s longtime commissioner, and is based on the greatest combination of performance and achievement in scholarship, athletics and leadership. Each school selects a male and female recipient, and these were presented to a pair of skiers- Rune Oedegaard and Brooke Wales Granstrom.

    The SAAC Distinguished Service Award, presented to senior members who contributed significantly to the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, was given to 10 seniors: Granstrom, Jenny DeSouchet and Hugh Dowdy (cross country), Bianca Jones and Darcy Jerman (soccer), Alex Kizirian (track & field), Catrina McAlister (cross country & track), Shane McLean (skiing), Jasmine Sborov (basketball) and Ashley Tiefel (tennis).

    The Spencer Nelson Buffalo Spirit Award was presented to the entire men’s and women’s cross country and track team. They lost a teammate, sprinter Kyle MacIntosh, due to complications from Ewing’s sarcoma on Jan. 29. This honor is presented to the student or students who demonstrated outstanding spirit, enthusiasm and leadership while overcoming adversity. MacIntosh, who was 23 and was the 2014 recipient of the award, fought the cancer for over a year and was often inspired and comforted by many of his teammates.

    The Sports Performance Awards for strength and conditioning accomplshments- Shaw Gifford (track) and Kahlia Hogg (soccer).


    The article also contains links to some videos, and all of them (showing nominees, skits, and an overall quick (5+ minute) highlight video) can be found at http://www.cubuffs.com/mediaPortal/player.dbml?DB_LANG=C&DB_OEM_ID=600&&db_oem_id=600 . There's also a storify link (looks to be accumulation of tweets related to the event)- http://www.cubuffs.com/ViewArticle.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=600&ATCLID=210055403
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2015
  2. AztecBuff

    AztecBuff Club Member Club Member

    Mar 9, 2013
    Likes Received:
    Congrats to the winners and nominees, and thanks to ALL the student athletes in ALL the sports who gave me so much enjoyment watching them this year. Looks like they had a well-deserved great time last night.

    Best of luck to all in their finals and final papers!

    And, of course, best of luck athletically to the teams (golf, lacrosse and track and field) that still have "work" to do this year.


    A couple tweets I just noticed that I don't see in the CUSPY storify (one because they don't have the CUSPYS hashtag and one maybe isn't a CUSPY award?)-


    Last edited: Apr 29, 2015

Share This Page