1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ten from Big 12 on Outland Trophy list

Discussion in 'CU Buffs Newsroom' started by RSSBot, Jun 22, 2010.

  1. RSSBot

    RSSBot News Junkie

    Jul 8, 2005
    Likes Received:
    [​IMG]Nine players from the Big 12 were among the 63 on the preseason watch list for the Outland Trophy released on Monday. The award is given annually to the best interior lineman on either side of the ball. As the season progresses, players will be added or deleted from the list as necessary, until the finalists are named in November.

    Ndamukong Suh won the award in 2009, giving Nebraska nine total winners, four more than any other school since the award's inception in 1946. The school had three consecutive winners from 1981-83 with Dave Rimington winning the trophy in 1981 and 1982 and Dean Steinkuhler winning in 1983. Steinkuhler's son, Baker Steinkuhler, is projected to start for the Huskers at defensive tackle in 2010.

    Oklahoma has the second-most awards, with five. Jammal Brown in 2004 was the most recent Sooners' winner.

    Texas is among four schools tied for fourth-most all-time with three winners, but hasn't had a winner since Brad Shearer in 1977.

    Here's who made this year's list:
    • Sam Acho, DT, Texas
    • Tim Barnes, C Missouri
    • Cory Brandon, T, Oklahoma
    • Jared Crick, DT, Nebraska
    • Ben Habern, C, Oklahoma
    • Kyle Hix, T, Texas
    • Ben Lamaak, C, Iowa State
    • Ryan Miller, G, Colorado
    • Nate Solder, T, Colorado
    • Adrian Taylor, DT, Oklahoma
    View the full list.


Share This Page