1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thoughts on the All-Big 12 team

Discussion in 'CU Buffs Newsroom' started by RSSBot, Jul 22, 2010.

  1. RSSBot

    RSSBot News Junkie

    Jul 8, 2005
    Likes Received:
    [​IMG]The Big 12 announced its preseason award winners and All-Big 12 team Thursday. Here's who's on the list:

    Offensive Player of the Year: Jerrod Johnson, QB, Texas A&M

    Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Jared Crick, DT, Nebraska; and Von Miller, LB, Texas A&M

    Newcomer of the Year: Toney Clemons, WR, Colorado


    QB: Jerrod Johnson, Texas A&M

    RB: DeMarco Murray, Oklahoma

    RB: Daniel Thomas, Kansas State

    WR: Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma

    WR: Jeff Fuller, Texas A&M

    TE: Mike McNeill, Nebraska

    OL: Ryan Miller, Colorado

    OL: Nate Solder, Colorado

    OL: Tim Barnes, Missouri

    OL: Tanner Hawkinson, Kansas

    OL: Stephen Good, Oklahoma

    OL: Kyle Hix, Texas

    PK: Alex Henery, Nebraska

    KR: Cyrus Gray, Texas A&M


    DL: Aldon Smith, Missouri

    DL: Jared Crick, Nebraska

    DL: Jeremy Beal, Oklahoma

    DL: Sam Acho, Texas

    LB: Travis Lewis, Oklahoma

    LB: Von Miller, Texas A&M

    LB: Keenan Robinson, Texas

    LB: Brian Duncan, Texas Tech

    DB: Prince Amukamara, Nebraska

    DB: Aaron Williams, Texas

    DB: Quinton Carter, Oklahoma

    DB: Blake Gideon, Texas

    DB: Curtis Brown, Texas

    P: Derek Epperson, Baylor

    PR: Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma

    A few notes/thoughts from the team:
    • Only three players were unanimous selections: Jared Crick, Travis Lewis and Jeremy Beal. Other guys I'm surprised didn't earn that distinction: Ryan Broyles at receiver, Aaron Williams, Von Miller and Nate Solder.
    • Ties at linebacker, defensive back and offensive line forced the conference to make room for an extra spot.
    • The media's opinion of DeMarco Murray is somewhat divided, so I was a little unsure who would nab the second spot on the ballot. I'd be interested to see how close it was between him, Roy Helu, Kendall Hunter and Alexander Robinson.
    • Home run selection of Toney Clemons as Newcomer of the Year. If I'm guessing, the fact that he was the No. 1 pick in Colorado's spring game helped him earn this honor. An action like that by players speaks pretty loudly.
    • I definitely prefer football over basketball in these situations, which doesn't have to deal with freshmen on the preseason all-conference team.
    • I'm interested in how close the vote was between Missouri's Grant Ressel and Nebraska's Alex Henery. Henery's punting skills make him the clearly more valuable player, but talking strictly place-kicking, it's pretty close, and Ressel's additional accuracy is quantifiable.
    Here's the list breakdown by team:

    1. Oklahoma - 7

    2. Texas - 6

    3. Nebraska - 4

    3. Texas A&M - 4

    5. Missouri - 2

    5. Colorado - 2

    7. Baylor - 1

    7. Kansas - 1

    7. Kansas State - 1

    7. Texas Tech - 1

    11. Oklahoma State - 0

    11. Iowa State - 0

  2. GoldenBuff

    GoldenBuff Well-Known Member

    Dec 9, 2007
    Likes Received:
    I bet I know why Miller didn't earn that distinction. Probably because whoever the Boulder voter is didn't pick him (at least I hope not). Also, as I see all of this acclaim being showered upon individual members of our O-Line, it only makes me more fearful that things will fail to gel once again. Our team will live and die by the guys up front this year and if they don't get their act together, we probably won't exceed our win total from last year.

Share This Page