1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tracking the Big 12 awards races: Week 13

Discussion in 'CU Buffs Newsroom' started by RSSBot, Nov 24, 2010.

  1. RSSBot

    RSSBot News Junkie

    Jul 8, 2005
    Likes Received:
    By David Ubben

    [​IMG]Offensive Player of the Year

    1. Justin Blackmon, WR, Oklahoma State: Blackmon continued his consistent run, catching 10 passes for 130 yards and a touchdown in a win against Kansas, even on a bum ankle late in the game. That's 10 consecutive games with at least 125 yards and a touchdown.

    2. Ryan Broyles, WR, Oklahoma: Broyles added to his school records with 12 catches for 113 yards and a touchdown, a solid game, and exactly what he's been doing all year.

    3. Kendall Hunter, RB, Oklahoma State: Hunter is in no danger of losing the Big 12's rushing title with his ninth game of at least 100 yards this year, and his 1,461 yards are 233 more than his closest competition. He also leads the league with 16 rushing touchdowns.

    Honorable mention: Brandon Weeden, Oklahoma State; Landry Jones, Oklahoma; Robert Griffin III, Baylor; Taylor Martinez, Nebraska; Jeff Fuller, Texas A&M; Rodney Stewart, Colorado; Daniel Thomas, Kansas State

    Defensive Player of the Year

    1. Jeremy Beal, DE, Oklahoma: Beal leads the league with 8.5 sacks and 17 tackles for loss. He had a sack and five tackles against Baylor.

    2. Lavonte David, LB, Nebraska: David upped his tackle total to 120 with 14 stops and an 11-yard sack against Texas A&M. That puts him at second in the league in tackles.

    3. Sam Acho, DT, Texas: Acho is second in the league with eight sacks, and second with 15.5 tackles for loss. He added four tackles for loss and three sacks against Florida Atlantic. He forced a fumble, recovered a fumble and had four quarterback hurries. All six of his tackles were solo.

    Honorable mention: Orie Lemon, Oklahoma State; Von Miller, Texas A&M; Prince Amukamara, Nebraska; Brian Duncan, Texas Tech; Byron Landor, Baylor; A.J. Klein, Iowa State

    Coach of the Year

    1. Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State: Even if Oklahoma State loses to Oklahoma on Saturday, Gundy still gets my vote for this award.

    2. Art Briles, Baylor: Baylor finished with a three-game losing streak, but like I said all year, winning seven games at Baylor is nothing to shrug at.

    3. Mike Sherman, Texas A&M: Sherman kept his team afloat after struggling early, and the Aggies are surging late. They're a win over Texas away from likely playing in a major bowl game.

    Honorable mention: Bo Pelini, Nebraska

    Originally posted by ESPN.com - Big 12 Blog
    Click here to view the article.

Share This Page