1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Awards updates: Pac-12 rocks the punt

Discussion in 'CU Buffs Newsroom' started by RSSBot, Nov 2, 2011.

  1. RSSBot

    RSSBot News Junkie

    Jul 8, 2005
    Likes Received:
    By Ted Miller

    [​IMG]Some awards updates...

    Stanford QB Andrew Luck, Oregon*RB LaMichael James, USC QB Matt Barkley, USC WR Robert Woods and Washington RB Chris Polk are*among 16 semifinalists for the Maxwell Award, presented to the collegiate player of the year.

    Here's the list

    Player Class Pos College
    Matt Barkley Jr QB University of Southern California
    Justin Blackmon Jr WR Oklahoma State University
    Tajh Boyd So QB Clemson University
    Ryan Broyles Sr WR University of Oklahoma
    Robert Griffin, III Jr QB Baylor University
    LaMichael James Jr RB University of Oregon
    Landry Jones Jr QB University of Oklahoma
    Case Keenum Sr QB University of Houston
    Andrew Luck Sr QB Stanford University
    Kellen Moore Sr QB Boise State University
    Chris Polk Jr RB University of Washington
    Trent Richardson Jr RB University of Alabama
    Brandon Weeden Sr QB Oklahoma State University
    Russell Wilson Sr QB University of Wisconsin
    David Wilson Jr RB Virginia Tech University
    Robert Woods So WR University of Southern California

    Arizona State LB Vontaze Burfict and Stanford LB Chase Thomas are among the 16 semifinalists for the 2011 Chuck Bednarik Award, which is awarded to the defensive player of the year.

    Here's the list.

    Player Class Pos College
    Mark Barron Sr DB University of Alabama
    Arthur Brown Jr LB Kansas State University
    Vontaze Burfict Jr LB Arizona State University
    Morris Claiborne Jr DB Lousiana State University
    Lavonte David Sr LB University of Nebraska
    Dont'a Hightower Jr LB University of Alabama
    Melvin Ingram Sr DL University of South Carolina
    Luke Kuechly Jr LB Boston College
    Tyrann Mathieu So DB Lousiana State University
    Whitney Mercilus Jr DL Unviersity of Illinois
    Sean Spence Sr LB University of Miami
    Devon Still Sr DL Penn State University
    Manti Te'o Jr LB University of Notre Dame
    Chase Thomas Sr LB Stanford University
    Courtney Upshaw Sr LB University of Alabama
    Jerel Worthy Jr DL Michigan State University

    USC safety T.J. McDonald was the only Pac-12 player named a Thorpe Award semifinalists this week. The award is given annually to the nation's best defensive back.

    Here's the list.

    Thorpe Award Semifinalists
    Antonio Allen, South Carolina
    David Amerson, North Carolina State
    Jonathan Banks, Mississippi State
    Mark Barron, Alabama
    Brandon Boykin, Georgia
    Brodrick Brown, Oklahoma State
    Morris Claiborne, LSU
    Casey Hayward, Vanderbilt
    Jayron Hosley, Virginia Tech
    Tony Jefferson, Oklahoma
    Dre Kirkpatrick, Alabama
    Nigel Malone, Kansas State
    Markelle Martin, Oklahoma State
    T.J. McDonald, USC
    Chase Minnifield, Virginia

    Seven of the 54 punters on the 2011 Ray Guy Award watch list hail from the Pac-12:*California's Bryan Anger, Arizona's Kyle Dugandzic, Oregon State's Johnny Hekker, Arizona State's Josh Hubner, UCLA's Jeff Locke, USC's Kyle Negret and Oregon's Jackson Rice.

    So the conference has that going for it.

    The list will be narrowed to ten semi-finalists to be announced on November 11.

    Here's the watch list.

    2011 Ray Guy Award Candidates
    Bryan Anger - California
    Ben Armer - Western Michigan
    Will Atterberry - North Texas
    Trey Barrow - Missouri
    Tyler Bennett - Utah State
    Peter Boehme - Southern Mississippi
    Dylan Breeding - Arkansas
    Ben Buchanan - Ohio State
    Drew Butler - Georgia
    Ian Campbell - UTEP
    Tyler Campbell - Ole Miss
    Steven Clark - Auburn
    Bobby Cowan - Idaho
    Ryan Doerr - Kansas State
    Ron Doherty - Kansas
    Kyle Dugandzic - Arizona
    Anthony Fera - Penn State
    Will Goggans - Troy
    Mickey Groody - Florida Atlantic
    Eric Guthrie - Iowa
    Johnny Hekker - Oregon State
    Tom Hornsey - Memphis
    Jimmy Howell - Virginia
    Josh Hubner - Arizona State
    Jay Karutz - Eastern Michigan
    Anson Kelton - TCU
    Alex King - Duke
    Pete Kontodiakos - Colorado State
    Scott Kovanda - Ball State
    Chase Lansford - UNLV
    Richie Leone - Houston
    Jeff Locke - UCLA
    Brett Maher - Nebraska
    Kyle Martens - Rice
    Austin McCoy - Wyoming
    Brandon McManus - Temple
    Kyle Negrete - USC
    Brad Nortman - Wisconsin
    Pat O’Donnell - Cincinnati
    Shawn Powell - Florida State
    Ryan Quigley - Boston College
    Jackson Rice - Oregon
    Matt Rinehart - Kent State
    Brian Schmiedebusch - Bowling Green
    Quinn Sharp - Oklahoma State
    Brian Stahovich - San Diego State
    Riley Stephenson - BYU
    Ryan Tydlacka - Kentucky
    Kirby Van Der Kamp - Iowa State
    Cole Wagner - Connecticut
    Cody Webster - Purdue
    Kase Whitehead - Marshall
    Brad Wing - LSU
    Dawson Zimmerman - Clemson

    Originally posted by ESPN.com - Pac-10 Blog
    Click here to view the article.

Share This Page