1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coburn Added To The Bowerman Watch List

Discussion in 'University of Colorado News and Olympic Sports' started by cmgoods, May 2, 2013.

  1. cmgoods

    cmgoods Olympic Sports Mod Club Member

    Oct 15, 2011
    Likes Received:
    Senior Emma Coburn

    Photo Courtesy: Associated Press
    Coburn Added To The Bowerman Watch List

    Release: 05/02/2013 Courtesy: Linda Sprouse, Assistant SID

    NEW ORLEANS –University of Colorado senior Emma Coburn has been added to The Bowerman Watch List following her outstanding performances last week in the 3,000-meter steeplechase and the 1,500-meter run.

    Coburn became the second-fastest NCAA performer in the event when she clocked a time of 9:28.26 to win the top section at the Payton Jordan Cardinal Invite on Sunday, April 28. Her time is the best recorded in the world this season and leads the NCAA by 22.13 seconds. Coburn was the 2011 NCAA champion in the steeplechase and redshirted the 2012 campaign.

    Just two days earlier, and two time zones away, Coburn raced in the top section of the 1,500 at the 104[SUP]th[/SUP] Drake Relays, finishing in 4:11.36. She placed eighth overall, but was the only collegiate runner in the field. Her time ranks fifth in the NCAA this season.

    Coburn also won the NCAA mile title at indoor nationals last March, finishing in 4:29.91. It was the second time during the season that she ran a sub-4:30 mile as she ran 4:29.86 at the prestigious Millrose Games a few weeks prior to nationals. Coburn is the only American collegiate athlete to ever run under 4:30 twice. She ranks fifth on the NCAA’s all-time performers list.

    The Bowerman, which debuted in 2009, is presented annually by the USTFCCCA to the most outstanding male and female collegiate track & field athletes in the nation. Past winners include Olympic gold medalist and decathlon world-record holder Ashton Eaton (2010), 10,000-meter Olympic silver medalist Galen Rupp (2009), and 2011 IAAF World Champion at 1500 meters, Jenny Simpson (2009).
    from cubuffs.com

Share This Page