1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Locals Dominate Sportswomen of Colorado Awards

Discussion in 'University of Colorado News and Olympic Sports' started by cmgoods, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. cmgoods

    cmgoods Olympic Sports Mod Club Member

    Oct 15, 2011
    Likes Received:
    Locals dominate Sportswomen of Colorado awards

    from buffzone.com

    Local athletes pepper the list of winners for the 2012 Sportswomen of Colorado Awards that will be handed out March 10.

    The group will honor 45of Colorado's top female athletes and contributors to women's athletics at its 39th annual Awards Banquet at the Hyatt Regency Tech Center. Susie Wargin and Marcia Neville will present the awards with special guest Olympian Missy Franklin.

    University of Colorado athlete Emma Coburn will enter the organization's hall of fame by earning her third award this year. She is being honored for her efforts at the London Olympics.

    Coburn's teammate, Shalaya Kipp, who also ran the 3,000-meter steeplechase in London, is being honored for her collegiate efforts in 2012 for the Buffs.

    CU's Chucky Jeffery is being honored as the top women's college basketball player in the state and Buff Emily Talley the top golfer.

    Former CU skier Katie Hartman will be given the comeback award after bouncing back from knee surgery.

    Local prep athletes also garnered plenty of attention.

    Legacy's Kailey Edwards (basketball), Niwot's Elise Cranny (cross country), Emma Lazaroff of Centaurus (lacrosse), Belle Morel of Peak to Peak (soccer) and Silver Creek's Valarie Allman (track and field) will all be honored.

    Fairview graduate Meili Carpenter will also be honored for her contributions in the sport of diving as an athlete and a coach.

    The presentation of the Sportswoman of the Year Award to the state's most outstanding athlete for her 2012 achievements will also be awarded.

    All award winners were chosen by a media panel from a pool of more that 70 nominated candidates. The complete list of 2013 winners follows.

    2013 Sportswomen of Colorado
    Basketball -- Chucky Jeffery, University of Colorado
    Basketball -- Kailey Edwards, Legacy
    Mountain Biking -- Georgia Gould, Ft. Collins
    Paralympic Cycling -- Allison Jones, Colorado Springs
    Coach -- Todd Schmitz, Colorado Stars
    Cross Country -- Elise Cranny, Niwot
    Diving -- Alexa Beckwith, St. Mary's Academy
    Diving -- Meili Carpenter, Fairview grad
    Field Hockey -- Julia Murphy, Colorado Academy
    Golf -- Emily Talley, University of Colorado
    Gymnastics -- Keri Peel, Rocky Mountain
    Gymnastics -- Moriah Martin, University of Denver
    Lacrosse -- Emma Lazaroff, Centaurus
    Lacrosse -- Kate Henrich, University of Denver
    Road running -- Heather Utrata, Englewood
    Trail running -- Kim Dobson, Grand Junction
    Alpine skiing -- Mikaela Shiffrin, Burke Mountain Academy
    Soccer -- Kristen Hamilton, University of Denver
    Soccer -- Belle Morel, Peak to Peak Charter School
    Softball -- Molly Clark, Metro State University
    Softball -- Cassidy Smith, Loveland
    Swimming -- Bonnie Brandon, Cherry Creek
    Tennis -- Alexa Glatch, Centennial
    Tennis -- Jessika Mozia, Colorado Tennis Academy
    Track and field -- Janay DeLoach-Soukup
    Track and field -- Shalaya Kipp, University of Colorado
    Track and field -- Emma Coburn, University of Colorado
    Track and field -- Valarie Allman, Silver Creek
    Track and field -- Abigail Simpson, Pueblo County
    Triathlon -- Taylor Fogg, Pine Creek
    Triathlon -- Mary Beth Ellis, Superior
    Volleyball -- Haleigh Washington, Doherty
    Volleyball -- Ariel Turner, Purdue
    Wrestling -- Adeline Grey, Colorado Springs
    Wrestling -- Cody Pfau, Grand Valley
    All-Around -- Annie Kunz, Texas A&M
    All-Around high school -- Taylor Leyva, Pueblo West
    Comeback -- Katie Hartman, University of Colorado
    Career Achievement -- Scott Irving, United State Air Force Academy
    Dorothy Mauk Pioneer -- Jane Wahl, University of Colorado
    Leadership -- Jasmine Cervantes, Metro State University
    Promising -- Brickelle Bro, Rock Canyon
    Perseverance -- Faimie Kingsley, University of Denver
    Spirit -- Love, Sweat & Gears cycling team
    Trailblazer -- Chris Beal, Lakewood

Share This Page