1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. The admins are aware of site instability throughout the day today. We have our crack technical staff checking it out, but it is probably the Russians. If you are having any specific issues, please post them to the Customer Service Support Forums and we will get to them in the next 24 to 48 weeks. Thank You

Six from Big 12 on Thorpe Award list

Discussion in 'CU Buffs Newsroom' started by RSSBot, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. RSSBot

    RSSBot News Junkie

    Jul 8, 2005
    Likes Received:
    [​IMG]The Thorpe Award, given annually to college football's best defensive back, has released its watch list, and six players from the Big 12 have earned consideration for the award entering the 2010 season.
    • Prince Amukamara, CB, Nebraska
    • Curtis Brown, CB, Texas
    • Quinton Carter, S, Oklahoma
    • Blake Gideon, S, Texas
    • Jimmy Smith, CB, Colorado
    • Aaron Williams, CB, Texas
    Both Amukamara and Williams should be two of the favorites to win the award from the 35-man watch list. There's lots of talent at the top in the secondary across the Big 12; four of the six players on the watch list made our list of the Big 12's top 25 players from earlier this spring, and Oklahoma's Quinton Carter was one of the top players who just missed.

    Aaron Ross of Texas in 2006 was the last Big 12 player to win the award, but from 2000-06, the Big 12 took home the award in five of six years.

    Tennessee's Eric Berry won the award last year, and Texas' Earl Thomas was a finalist.

    You can view the full list of watch listers here.


Share This Page